Beauty, Reviews

Boxwalla Beauty Box Review | FACEts of Spring April 2016

I feel like the amount of beauty boxes in the natural/vegan category has nearly doubled in the past year. There’s a lot that I still have yet to try (e.g. Art of Organics, Glowing Beets,  Klover Box, etc.), but I’ve been working on reducing my beauty box subscriptions so I can use up all the products I’ve accumulated over the past several months before I sign up for any new ones. My goal is ultimately be more minimalist about my beauty and skincare routine, but as you can tell, it is still a work in progress.

However, since my Vegan Cuts subscription* is coming to an end, I thought I’d try out the Boxwalla Beauty Box. I was tempted by their feature of the Axiology lipstick in the April box and I liked that they offered subscribers an opportunity to select which color they wanted of the 4 choices that were offered. I was planning on buying a lipstick from Axiology anyway and thought I’d try out a month or two and see how the subscription went. What makes Boxwalla unique from other beauty box subscriptions is that they actually offer 4 different types of boxes. Besides the Beauty Box, they have a Food Box, a Book Box, and a Film Box. Each box has a different theme for each month and this is the first time I’ve been curious about trying other box subscriptions beyond the beauty realm. If you’re looking for a subscription box in any of those categories, you must check them out! I think they would also make great gifts for anyone that is a foodie, bookworm, or film lover. I am all 3 of these things, so clearly I need them all. Although, I think my wallet would strongly disagree. One thing to keep in mind is that these boxes are definitely on the higher-end spectrum of box subscriptions, but they are bi-monthly, which I actually love because it gives me more time to use up and enjoy the products in the box. Bowalla’s beauty box is $49.95 including shipping.

First off, the packaging is minimalist and beautiful. According to Boxwalla, the box is made from “tree-free paper from a small company in India. It is made from cotton scraps, using the traditional art of papermaking that involves 9 steps and takes several weeks. The handmade paper is then meticulously fashioned into the boxes. The whole process is completely child labor free and employs 63 local villagers and 20 skilled artisans whose families have been making paper for generations.” I love the thoughtfulness and detail of the box. I think that it is a step-up from some of the other beauty boxes that I’ve tried and you definitely get what you pay for. Each box comes with a letter explaining the theme of the box as well as the contents inside. April’s box included 5 items:

  •  Garden of Wisdom – Pineapple/Red Wine Enzyme Gel (Retail: $3.50): It is a mask made with a pineapple infusion containing the naturally exfoliating power of bromelain enzymes, as well as the antioxidant power of burgundy wine. I am personally a fan of all things pineapple and am excited to try this! I’ve never heard of this brand before but the ingredient list is short and simple, which is a huge plus in my book. It also smells good enough to eat!
  • Garden of WisdomBlue Mallow Hyaluronic Acid Serum (Retail: $13.90): It contains Blue Mallow and L-Carnosine which reduce inflammation and protect the skin from oxidative damage. I love serums and am curious to see how this one performs.
  • Garden of WisdomHealing Lip Balm (Retail: $0.40 for full-size): This is only a small sample size but the ingredients look really good and moisturizing. Some ingredients include Coconut Cream, Avocado Oil, Beeswax, Cocoa Butter, Mango Seed Butter, Pomegranate Seed Oil, Rosehip Seed Oil, and Manuka Honey 17+.
  • Wonderland OrganicsSoothe Serum (Retail: $39.99): It is described as a lavender scented oil-based serum formulated for sensitive skin. It contains a variety of oils such as Argan, Tamanu, Pomegranate, and Seabuckthorn and has aromatherapeutic properties. I’ve read reviews about this serum being great for dry spots, so I’m happy to add this to my skincare regimen. I’ve also been wanting to try this brand for a while and am glad that it was featured in this month’s box.
  • Axiology – Lipstick in the color Noble (Retail: $28): The lipstick is probably the star product in this month’s box. The packaging is easily the prettiest in the green beauty world and that is saying A LOT. I own lipsticks from Ilia Beauty, Nudus, Red Apple Lipstick, and other brands, but this one is in a league of its own. The gold packaging is weighty and feels luxe. Instead of the usual twist up packing that you’re used to, this one requires you to push the bottom of the tube and pull out the lipstick. Noble is a beautiful peachy-pink color and is perfect for everyday wear. Axiology is a cruelty-free, vegan band and even the lipstick box is beautiful. It is made from recycled paper that is “collected from all around the island [of Bali, Indonesia] and is taken to a small factory. It’s then boiled down to a pulp, laid out to the sun to dry, and finally folded and decorated by hand.”

As you can tell, I am super satisfied with Boxwalla’s April Beauty Box. I first found out about the brand when I saw pictures of their February beauty box, which had full-size RMS Beauty products, on instagram. I think the pros of the box are that you are getting full-size natural, cruelty-free products that are carefully curated, so if you are someone who is not into accumulating small samples and wants a more minimalist approach to beauty and skincare, then this is the box for you. Since the box is bi-monthly, it feels like there is more care and attention paid to each box and you can tell by the way it is beautifully packaged. When you open the box, it feels like a birthday gift from an old friend and I think it’s a great way to discover new green beauty brands and save money. I love that so far all the boxes have featured products that are on my wishlist. It’s like Boxwalla can read my mind. I love the overall philosophy of the brand and can’t wait to see what’s inside the June box.

Boxwalla just released a June Box Spoiler!

Every June Beauty Box will contain green beauty favorite Gressa’s  luminous complexion fluid : Lumière in Elise. This complexion fluid is a multitasking must have that works as a luminous cheek tint, a glossy lip tint and can be used on the eyelids as well. A gorgeous serum pigment, it is adaptable to any skin tone, and is so versatile and nourishing that it has found its way into the Wandering Woman’s makeup bag.

What else will the Wandering Woman take and what beauty secrets will she bring back? Find out in the June Beauty Box!  Reserve yours by May 20.”

*****

*I picked up a 6 month subscription during one of their sales last year, making each box an affordable $16.34! Vegan Cuts’ Beauty Box is currently priced at $22.95 a month. It has gone up a few dollars from last year, however, if you are looking for vegan products, this is one of the best beauty boxes out there in that category. If you’re on a budget, I highly recommend trying Petit Vour, which is more affordable at $15 a month, or signing up for Vegan Cut’s email newsletter and buying a subscription during one of their sales like I did.

Leave a Reply

