Beauty

Current Skincare Routine

skincare

My skincare routine changes often because I feel that certain products over time are no longer as effective.  Also, depending on the weather, my skin can be prone to blemishes or dryness. For the past couple of months, this is what I have been using and loving.

As far as cleansers go, Halycon is my favorite luxury item. I usually rotate it with other cleansers that I’ve received as samples in my subscription boxes. I loved all the Blissoma products that I’ve tried and will purchase a full-size version of the Mild Rice Cleanser and the A+ Correcting Serum  when I run out. I’m not a big fan of the dropper applicator bottle and feel that it just doesn’t work for me at all. I’m hoping the full-size versions will have better packaging because I do love the product itself.

For exfoliation, Acure Organics Brightening Facial Scrub* is the most, gentle facial scrub ever and I love the ingredients and the affordable price point. They now carry Acure Organics at Target so it’s even easier to find in-stores!

For toner, my favorite has been Yuli’s Cocoon Elixir. Since, it is on the pricier side, I also rotate this with my Heritage Store Rosewater Spray and Thayer’s Witch Hazel. I haven’t tried that many toners because in the past I didn’t really feel like they did much for my skin, but if you have any suggestions of toners to try, let me know in the comments.

I use sunscreen or makeup with spf during the day and for evenings or lazy days at home, I will moisturize with different oils like rosehip oil (I got mine from TJ-Maxx for about $10) and avocado oil. I have a lot of facial oil samples that I’ve trying to get through before I invest in a new facial oil. I am still searching for my HG facial oil/serum and I currently have my eye on products from Yuli Skincare and Living Libations. I still use Acure Organics Argan Oil and I find that it is one of the best, affordable facial oils.

For acne treatment, I love Holiskin’s Intensive Repair: Acne Scar Treatment. I use this as a spot treatment in the evenings to lighten my acne scars. I also find that it helps speed up the healing process for existing blemishes. I’m still interested in trying Yuli’s Cell Perfecto PM because of all the rave reviews, but I’m happy to have this on hand in the meantime since the price is significantly friendlier on my wallet.

*****

I get a lot my products from Vitacost and Pharmaca, so definitely check out their sales to get the best deal:

  • Get $10 off your first purchase of $30 at Vitacost here.
4 thoughts on “Current Skincare Routine”

  1. I’m not sure if you’ve done a full review of the Halcyon cleanser, but I would love to know what you like about it and why you would recommend it. I’ve been flirting with a purchase of it for a while…but I worry it’s too basic a product to justify the price. Thanks!

    1. I think that Halycon is the most gentle cleanser that I’ve ever tried. My sister couldn’t find any natural cleansers that did not irritate her skin until I got her to try Halycon. It’s very soothing and I find that it helps speed up the healing process when I have blemishes. The only real cons that I’ve found are the price, the fact that it does not foam like traditional cleansers, and it does not seem to remove all of your makeup. Hope that answers your question. 🙂

  2. I love YÜLI and Acure! I’ve got my eye on the Holiskin Intensive Repair: Acne Scar Treatment. I’ve been debating trying that or the Odacité Pa+G to help with scaring issues.

    1. I had a similar dilemma except I was debating if I should splurge on YÜLI’s Cell Perfecto instead. I think at the time that I purchased the Holiskin Intensive Repair Acne Scar Treatment, there was a $10 off deal going on so I decided to try it. I think it’s also a great spot treatment for existing blemishes, so it helps them heal much quicker and reduces future scarring. I haven’t tried anything from Odacité yet but I always hear good things about it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

