Beauty, Reviews

Affordable Natural Skincare Staples

IMG_3588

As I mentioned in my previous post, Pharmaca was having a big sale the other week on products that I use regularly as well as those that had been on my wishlist to try. This is my second time ordering from Pharmaca and I was enticed by a 25% Off coupon that I had found during their February Sale. My order also qualified for Free Shipping, which is always a big plus in my book. I picked up the Nourish Organic Hand Wash and Body Wash in Almond Vanilla for myself to test out and I also got a couple of other things for my siblings. I’ve been trying to get everyone in my family to go green and it hasn’t been easy. There are a lot of products that they have been used to using over the years, so it’s been a challenge to find more natural and cruelty-free alternatives since they’re not as obsessed with green beauty as I am. I think a big misconception about natural products is that they are too expensive or that they don’t perform as well as their mainstream counterparts. However, over the past year or so, I’ve successfully gotten the majority of my family to reconsider their opinions on green skincare and body care products! I typically buy products from Vitacost because they carry almost everything that I need at a discounted price, but since I recently discovered Pharmaca a couple months ago, I now have more options to choose from without breaking the bank.

I first bought the One Love Organics Easy Does It Foaming Cleanser last year and my brother just finished the bottle a few days ago! It lasts such a long time and I always buy it when there’s a sale going on, so I find it to be very budget-friendly and cost effective. The cleanser is very simple and easy to use, which is something that appeals to my brother despite the girly pink packaging. My brother has blemish prone skin and this cleanser seems to do a great job of cleansing without stripping away moisture from the skin. A lot of natural cleansers don’t necessarily produce foam like mainstream products, so I think this is a great alternative since it performs well and smells like fresh apples. Another favorite of his was MyChelle Dermaceuticals Sun Shield Unscented SPF 28 sunscreen. I first bought this last year at Whole Foods when it was a mere $9.99 (!) in the clearance section. I’ve gotten him a bunch of natural sunscreens to try in the past year but this one seems to be his favorite since it’s lightweight, easy to blend, and doesn’t leave a weird white cast behind.

1Collage

I also picked up a few things for my sister including the Acure Organics Unscented Argan Oil Cleansing Towelettes, Acure Organics Moroccan Argan Oil, and Kiss My Face SPF 50 Face Factor Sunscreen. My sister is probably the hardest to shop for. She has very sensitive, dry skin so it’s hard to find products that don’t aggravate her skin. She usually tries out products that I already have on hand and she just used up my first bottle of Acure Organics Argan Oil, so of course I had to get a replacement. I haven’t tried the cleansing towelettes before but I’ve heard good things about them, so hopefully they will work for her. I also had a Kiss My Face SPF 30 sunscreen that I got a while back that my sister took a liking to, so I got herΒ the SPF 50 versionΒ to try out.

One area that I’m still working on finding natural alternatives for is haircare. I think it’s a bit hard to find a really good, affordable shampoo and conditioner that works well for everyone. Obviously, everyone has different hair textures and types, but I just haven’t found the perfect natural shampoo and conditioner duo yet. I, myself, switch back and forth between different brands and haven’t quite found my own HG shampoo and conditioner. I find that a lot of natural haircare products tend to dry out my hair, which is something that my family also has issues with. I think the only product that my family seems to like so far is the Desert Essence Conditioner in Raspberry. I’ve even purchased Acure Organics products for my family to try, but they didn’t really stand out to them as something they would choose over their current mainstream products. Β So, the hunt continues…

*****

What are your current favorite natural skincare products? Do you have any budget-friendly natural haircare suggestions?

Leave a Reply

