Beauty, Reviews

Natural Nail Care

IMAG0773

*****

The good (and bad) thing about going green is that you start to question the ingredients of the products that you normally buy. One thing that I never really thought about was nail polish. While I don’t wear nail polish on a daily basis, I am obsessed with pastel colors and all the nail art trends. If I do wear nail polish, I usually wear it on my toes since I don’t like to wear the same color for too long. While most companies today make “3-Free” nail polishes (free of dibutyl phthalate (DBP), toluene, and formaldehyde), there are some companies that do make “5-Free” nail polishes (without formaldehyde resin and camphor).

What’s the big deal about these chemicals? Well, according to birchbox.com:

Formaldehyde resin: Similar to regular formaldehyde, formaldehyde resin is a nail strengthener. Unfortunately, it is also a skin allergen and can remain active for up to three days after your polish has dried. While no link to cancer has been established for formaldehyde resin (in contrast to formaldehyde), it can cause dermatitis.

Camphor: Camphor is a natural ingredient that can be found in aromatherapy but that doesn’t automatically make it safe! Exposure in large doses, especially through inhalation, can be toxic and cause irritation, nausea, dizziness, and headaches.

*****

Now that I’ve researched about the toxins in nail polish, I am on a mission to find 5-Free alternatives for my favorite nail polishes. My current favorite nail polish brand is Essie, which happens to be 3-Free. I just love Essie’s colors, especially Mint Candy Apple, Lilacism, Where’s My Chauffeur?,  Lapis of Luxury, Turquoise and Caicos, and Bikini So Teeny. So far, I’ve tried Zoya (in Rocky) and Scotch Naturals (in Morning Glory Fizz), which are both 5-Free and eco-friendly. If you are making the switch to a more natural, non-toxic nail polish, then Zoya is probably the easiest to switch to since they have over 300 colors to choose from. Their formula is great, easy to apply, and dries quickly. They often have promotions online and are reasonably priced. Since Zoya is a popular brand among the beauty community, it’s pretty easy to do a quick google search for swatches, which is helpful when deciding on which color to purchase.

Here are some colors that are on my wishlist:

Fotor070493446

{Source: Pinterest – Zoya Kristen, Blu, Neely, Miley, Wednesday}

*****

In contrast, Scotch Naturals offers a water-based nail polish that is also free of ethyl acetate, butyl acetate, nitrocellulose, acetone, and heavy metals. Their polishes are a little more expensive but I think that if you are concerned with the toxicity of traditional nail polishes, then the extra few dollars are worth it. The formula is a bit watery in comparison to Zoya, but with that in mind, I didn’t have any issues with the application. Scotch Naturals also claims to be “Vegan, Cruelty-free, Gluten Free, Fragrance Free, Toxin Free, Paraben Free, Hypoallergenic, and Biodegradable.” I really like the company’s mission statement and I think the packaging is just adorable. I want to try their other pastel colors like Caleigh, Loch Lomond, Celtic, and Leprechaun Lynch.

For nail polish remover, I’m currently using one made by Mineral Fusion. I picked this up at my local Whole Foods market awhile back and it works well, but it does have a strong pineapple fragrance. I feel like there might be better, natural alternatives out there, so I probably won’t repurchase this. If you have any suggestions, please let me know in the comments!

IMAG0775

*****

What are your favorite “5-Free” nail polishes?

Leave a Reply

