Beauty, Reviews

March Favorites

March Favorites
March Favorites

Spring is finally here! My birthday came and went (I will post more about it later), but I just wanted to share a few of my favorite natural products for March.

Wedderspoon 100% Raw Manuka Honey* – I’ve read a lot about using raw honey as a cleanser/mask and I really enjoy using this product. Honey is known to have anti-bacterial, anti-fungal, and anti-viral properties, which makes it perfect for acne-prone skin. It has anti-inflammatory properties and can help heal your blemishes while also moisturizing your skin. Not only can you can use it as a cleanser, but you can also use it as a sweetener for your tea (especially if you have a sore throat or a cold). Since it is a bit pricey, I don’t use this as my everyday cleanser. I alternate between my current stash of natural cleansers and use this a few times a week or as an ingredient for a diy honey mask. Is it worth the splurge? If you have acne-prone and/or sensitive skin like me then the answer is YES.

Rahua Voluminous Shampoo – Finding effective natural hair care products seems to be one of the hardest things to do. I’ve tried countless natural shampoos and methods and none of them seem to work consistently for me. I still like using Acure Organics but I wanted to check out what all the hype was about surrounding Rahua. When I found a coupon for BeautySage, I couldn’t resist and I picked up a bottle of their voluminous shampoo to add to my daily haircare routine. For someone who has thick, pin-straight hair, this definitely adds volume and more importantly, it doesn’t dry out my hair! I actually prefer to use it without conditioner. I haven’t tried the Rahua Voluminous Conditioner yet, but it’s definitely next on my wishlist. If you’re still on the fence about trying Rahua because of the cost, I suggest trying their travel size bottle first.

Here’s the ingredient list from BeautySage:

Ingredients: Aqua, Herbal Infusion of Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract* and Cymbopogon Schoenanthus (Lemongrass) Extract*, Coco Betaine, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract*, Sea Salt, Saccharum Officinarum (Molasses) Extract, Glycerin, Caprylic Acid, Glycine, Oenocarpus Bataua (Rahua, Ungurahua) Oil, Hydrolyzed Quinoa, Potassium Sorbate (plant derived), Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Eucalyptus Globulus Leaf Oil, Citric Acid, Panthenol, Chlorophyll.
* Denotes Organic Ingredient

What it doesn’t contain: GMO, Parabens, Sulfates, Phthalate, Synthetic Fragrances, Synthetic Dyes, Gluten, Synthetic Chemicals, Silicone, Animal-Derived Ingredients, Mineral Oil, Synthetic Preservatives.

Why it works: This 100% natural, organic shampoo contains ungurahua oil, which is rich in Omega-9 and helps to restore, heal, moisturize and strengthen hair follicles for stronger, healthier hair. It also includes infusions of lemongrass and green tea for volumizing effects. They create body and bounce by balancing and removing excess oils from the hair shaft, without compromising the integrity of the hair. Meanwhile, citric juices break down oils helping to extend time between washes, and quinoa, a gluten free super-food indigenous to South America, promotes healing and moisture retention.

Desert Essence 100% Pure Jojoba Oil* – This is one of those must-have natural products that has multiple uses. You can use it as a makeup remover, a moisturizer (for your body/hair), and more. One bottle will last you a LONG time.

Shea Terra Rose Hips and Pink Clay Facial Cleansing Bar – I love using bar soaps for my body but I haven’t really used a facial cleansing bar in awhile. I decided to try this when I got my Rahua Voluminous Shampoo and I LOVE it. It has a lovely, soft rose scent that isn’t too overpowering and it gently cleanses my skin without drying it out. It is meant for mature, oily, and acne-prone skin. For $8, you can’t really go wrong with this product. It’s budget-friendly and more importantly, it helps keep my blemishes at bay.

According to BeautySage, these are the ingredients and how they function to cleanse your skin:

 Ingredients: USDA Certified Organic, Virgin Coconut Cream Oil, Spring Water, 33% USDA Certified Organic Shea Butter, Certified Organic, Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Sodium Hydroxide, Pink Clay, ECOCERT Certified Organic Rose Hips Seed Oil, Rose Hips Seed Powder and Rose Petals.

Why it works: This bar soap lathers, but not from the usual chemical suspects: Organic virgin coconut cream oil is to thank for its rich suds. Pink clay pulls dirt and bacteria from the pores, vitamin C-rich rosa mosqueta oil and crushed rose hips help even skin tone. Olive oil and an astounding 33% organic shea butter leave skin supple and balanced.

*****

What are your March Favorites? Have you tried any of these products? Share your thoughts in the comments!

* Get $10 off your first purchase of $30 at Vitacost: https://www.vitacostrewards.com/kWx5uLi.

Leave a Reply

