Beauty, Reviews

January Haul featuring Kjaer Weis, RMS Beauty, 100% Pure, CV Skinlabs, and Dr. Bronner’s.

blogjanuaryedit

I hope everyone is enjoying the new year so far. I just wanted to share some of my new green beauty discoveries. I’ve been using Dr. Bronner’s Castile Soap for over a year now and while I do try out a lot of different natural soaps, I always come back to this particular brand. My favorite scent so far has been Lavender, however, I recently picked up the other scents: Citrus, Rose, and Almond at my local Sprouts when the travel-sized bottles were on sale. I think it’s a great way to try the other scents without spending too much and I actually do like all of them. I think my favorite of the three at the moment is the Almond scent. Also, what’s great about the travel-sizes is that even if you ended up not liking the scent, you can just use the soap for cleaning your makeup brushes or cleaning up around the house. Then, you can re-use the bottle for other products when traveling!

I’ve been trying to find a tinted moisturizer that wasn’t too expensive since my Physician’s Formula one was about to run out. I stumbled upon 100% Pure Fruit Pigmented Tinted Moisturizer in White Peach, which seems to have some pretty good reviews throughout the green beauty community. I bought it when I saw it on sale (I think I got it for around $25) and I use this every day instead of foundation.

Here is the product description from 100% Pure’s website:

Key Benefits

  • 100% natural, 100% vegan, gluten free
  • colored with fruit and vegetable pigments instead of minerals or synthetic dyes
  • hydrating formula evens out skin tone and conceals imperfections
  • light to medium coverage
  • antioxidants protect against environmental damage

size: net wt. 1.7 fl oz / 50 ml

Retail: $35

Ingredients: Pigments of Peach, Apricot, Carrot, Pomegranate, Cocoa Bean, Goji Berry and Tomato, White Tea, Cucumber Juice, Aloe Juice, Acai Oil and Pomegranate Oil, Vitamin E (a-tocopherol), Vitamin C (ascorbyl palmitate), Rice Starch, Candelilla Wax, Extracts of Rosemary, Oregano, Thyme, Grapefruit Seed, Japanese Honeysuckle, Goldenseal and Cinnamon SUNSCREEN ACTIVE INGREDIENTS: 15% Titanium Dioxide and 10% Zinc Oxide

Here is a heavy swatch of White Peach:

swatch

I like that it is lightweight and easy to blend. The ingredient list is also great and it says on the website that it has SPF 20, but I still layer sunscreen underneath before I apply this product. It provides sheer to medium coverage, so if you have blemishes or under-eye circles, you will still need to apply a concealer to get fuller coverage.

Another great discovery was CV Skinlabs:

Britta Aragon, safe cosmetics expert, author and entrepreneur, developed CV SkinlabsTM in response to a need for non-toxic, effective skin care solutions. A luxurious and innovative line of products, CV Skinlabs sets a new standard for safety in the beauty industry, helping consumers enjoy a youthful radiance with skin care they can feel good about using. The collection features soothing and highly effective formulas that calm, repair, and deeply hydrate, while returning luminosity to dull, stressed skin. Each product delivers outstanding beauty benefits and proven results, with ingredients chosen for the utmost efficacy and safety, every step of the way. The carefully formulated range of options can be used with peace of mind by all—particularly those with sensitive skin, chemical sensitivities or conditions such as eczema and chronic dryness, to name a few.

Since I had accumulated enough reward points at BeautySage, I purchased the Restorative Skin Balm online and got $10 off! So, not only did I get a really good deal, but the product itself is really amazing. It is described as a one-hundred percent natural, non-petrolatum, cure-all balm instantly softens severely dry and chapped skin. It is perfect for eczema, scars, lips and cuticles. It really is a life-saver! I’ve only been using it for about a week and already, I’ve noticed significant improvement on my dry patches and scars. I also tend to get cuts from scratching too much and it is helping those heal as well. I’ve used everything under sun from prescription steroid creams to natural remedies and this is the only thing that seems to be consistently effective. I like that it soothes my skin and not only does the redness seem to go away, but that horrible “itchy” feeling is almost completely diminished.

Here is the ingredient list:

INGREDIENT LIST
Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Lanolin, Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Triolein, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba Cera) Wax*, Beeswax (Cera Alba)*, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Glycerin, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Glycerides, Hydrogenated Palm Glycerides, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla Cera) Wax, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil*, Acacia Decurrens/Jojoba/Sunflower Seed Wax Polyglyceryl-3 Esters, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter*, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil*, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil*, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil*, Squalane, Ganoderma Lucidum (Mushroom) Extract, Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract*, Curcuma Longa (Turmeric) Root Extract, Arnica Montana Flower Extract, Bisabolol, Zingiber Officinale (Ginger) Root Extract, Hippophae Rhamnoides Oil (Sea Buckthorn), Rosa Canina Fruit Oil (Rose Hip)*, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract *Organic

Lastly, I got samples from Spirit Beauty Lounge of Kjaer Weis eyeshadows in Wisdom, Divine, and Cloud Nine, blush in Desired Glow, and lip tint in Dream State*. In addition, I received RMS Beauty’s Buriti Bronzer and cream eyeshadows in Karma and Seduce (I will be adding swatches soon!). I’ve never tried any of Kjaer Weis products before, but after using these samples, I’ve added them to my wishlist. They are definitely “luxury” items, so I’m still debating on whether or not I’ll be purchasing the full-sizes of these anytime soon. The refills are definitely more affordable if anyone is considering using a Z palette, but since I’m more of a beginner, I’m still trying to figure out which eyeshadows I will actually get the most use out of: Kjaer Weis or RMS Beauty. I also really like layering the Kjaer Weis eyeshadows with the RMS beauty cream  shadows. It helps prevent the cream shadow from creasing and adds dimension to the overall look.

I’ve never used bronzer before, but the RMS Beauty bronzer is so easy to use and natural-looking that I might just consider adding it to my routine (maybe not for every day, but more as an alternative to blush). I’m generally pale (expect sometimes in the summer, I actually look “alive”), so the bronzer helps by adding warmth to my face. The cream eye shadows are great, I’ve tried Lunar, Solar, and Magnetic before so I wasn’t surprised that I liked these as well. I pretty much want the whole RMS Beauty collection at this point.

*I’ll be adding swatches of the samples soon!

*****

Have you tried any of these products? Please share your thoughts in the comments!

2 thoughts on “January Haul featuring Kjaer Weis, RMS Beauty, 100% Pure, CV Skinlabs, and Dr. Bronner’s.”

Leave a Reply

