Beauty, Reviews

RMS Beauty and Alima Pure Sample Haul

IMAG0406_EDIT

I’ve been reading reviews about RMS Beauty products for awhile now and I finally decided to order a sample kit from spiritbeautylounge.com. If you are interested in trying out some natural/organic makeup alternatives, Spirit Beauty Lounge is a great place to start. The sample kit costs $25 and you can choose 9 different samples. Plus, it comes with free shipping! It only took about 3 days for my kit to arrive and it came in a cute little pouch with an organic watermelon-flavored lollipop. You also get a $5 voucher good towards a purchase of $40 or more, so you can get whichever product(s) you liked best. I ordered eight RMS Beauty samples and one Alima Pure sample.

*********

Fotor0103012420

{Pictured from top to bottom: Column 1 – RMS Beauty “Un” Powder, Alima Pure Satin Matte Eyeliner in Black, RMS Beauty & Lip2Cheek in Smile, Column 2 – RMS Beauty Living Luminizer, “Un” Cover-up in #11 & “Un” Cover-up in #22, Column 3: RMS Beauty Cream Eyeshadows in Lunar, Solar, & Magnetic}

*********

Swatches:

IMAG0415

I apologize if the swatches don’t appear dark enough. However, as you can see a little product goes a long way. All the colors are buildable and smooth and creamy in consistency. These were lightly swatched and unfortunately, the camera didn’t capture the colors as well as they looked in person.

IMAG0427

The RMS Beauty Cream Eyeshadows were very creamy and a bit sheer as described. However, it didn’t bother me and I do like that while they are sheer, they are still buildable if you’d like to see a more pigmented look.  Since, I don’t wear much makeup (besides concealer or tinted moisturizer) on a daily basis, I like that these eye shadows are very natural-looking colors that perfect for every day. Unfortunately, I haven’t worn them long enough (nor the Alima Pure eyeliner in black) to test their longevity, but I will try to edit this post once I get a chance to test it out further.  EDIT: I have worn the eye shadows and they seem to last throughout the day. I didn’t experience any creasing, but it may vary from person to person based on the oiliness of their eyelids. 

Here are the product descriptions from the RMS Beauty website:

“A veil of sheer metallic hues that gives these unique shadows a glowing, light-reflective finish not seen in traditional eye shadows. They have a subtle, glossy quality, giving them a very fashion forward finish that is both flattering and youthful.

These sensual shadows need to be applied very sparingly and worked into the skin like you would a moisturizer. rms beauty eye shadows have all the benefits of raw mineral pigments without the dryness that occurs with minerals alone. rms beauty cream eye shadows double as an eye cream to nourish and moisturize the eye area, separating them from commercial eye shadows that can accelerate aging and emphasize lines. These shadows work amazing on dry or aging eyes.

SHADES:

Lunar: A champagne pearl shimmer that can double as a highlighter/lipstick for more of a frosted evening look.
Solar: A warm, golden bronze shade that can be used as a highlighter when blended subtly over the skin or lips.
Magnetic: Our biggest seller is this taupe/silver shadow with a hint of mauve. ”

Since I enjoyed these samples, I would also love to try Seduce and Karma. I don’t usually wear much eyeshadow as my daily makeup routine is pretty minimalist, but these eye shadows are making me think twice….

RMS Beauty Living Luminizer and Lip2Cheek in Smile were both very lovely samples. I love how easy they are to apply and how they enhance your natural beauty. Living Luminizer is a white highlighter that gives your skin a subtle, healthy glow. It’s perfect for making tired eyes appear more alert and awake. Smile is such a pretty coral pink that is perfect for a natural, every day look. Unfortunately, the color didn’t seem to stay on my lips for very long, so you may have to reapply throughout the day, especially after you eat or drink. I did try using Smile as a cream blush and it was very easy to blend. I don’t really wear or own any cream blushes, but I think using a translucent powder like RMS Beauty “un” powder would be a great way to set the blush and ensure that the pigment will last longer. I definitely want to try out other Lip2Cheek colors and I am now curious about their Lip Shines.

The second set of swatches was so hard to capture on camera! The light colors blended into my skin, making it difficult to get a true swatch. However, RMS Beauty “Un” Cover-up #22 worked best on my skin and I really love how easy it is to apply with your finger. I think that out of all the products, this is the one that I’m planning on purchasing a full-size of first, as it is something that I would use on a daily basis.

The “Un” powder is a nice translucent powder that is great for setting your makeup once everything has been applied. I think it would serve as a nice replacement once my Tarte Smooth Operator Powder runs out.

While I haven’t really tested my sample of Alima Pure Eyeliner in Black  that much, I find the product very pigmented and easy to use. If you add a little bit of water, it darkens the pigmentation and makes it easier to draw lines. I like the simple ingredient list of the product and would recommend it to anyone looking for a “green” replacement for their eyeliner.

Have you tried any RMS Beauty or Alima Pure products? What are your thoughts?

3 thoughts on “RMS Beauty and Alima Pure Sample Haul”

  1. I also quite like how neutral and flattering the RMS Beauty eyeshadows are. However, I’ve been hesitant to try them because my skin can be reactive to coconut oil and I don’t know whether it would be irritating for use on my eyes.

    1. I don’t have any sensitivities to coconut oil so I don’t have any issues with RMS Beauty, but before I purchased any products from the line I sampled them on Spirit Beauty Lounge. This would probably be the best way to see if you have any reactions to the coconut oil unless there’s a green beauty store near you that carries the line. I really like the simplicity and ease of RMS Beauty products. When I’m in a rush, I don’t even need to use any makeup brushes and everything looks so natural and not too overdone. The only downside is the longevity of the products. I don’t really notice any creasing but the colors seem to fade by the end of an 8 hour work day. You can make them last longer by setting them with a powder.

      1. I’ve tried their Lip Tint before, but strictly on the lips. I’m planning on sampling some more from them, though I’m airing in the side of caution due to my previous experiences with coconut oil.

Leave a Reply

