Beauty, Reviews

What’s In My Shower

Like many beauty blogger fans, I am always curious to see what my favorite bloggers are using in their daily beauty routine. Well, here’s mine.

what's in my shower
what’s in my shower

As you can see, I use a lot of Alba Botanica products, mostly because they’re easy to find and generally inexpensive compared to other natural brands. I got the Alba Botanica Natural Hawaiian Shampoo and Alba Botanica Natural Hawaiian Conditioner (in Colorific Plumeria) on sale for about $7 as a bundle. I actually prefer the Coconut and Mango scents to this one but I can’t resist a good bargain. I’ve been using this for a couple months now, but unfortunately, I can’t speak much on its effects on color-treated hair as I don’t dye my hair.  However, I think it does get the job done and it has a nice floral scent to it. It almost reminds me of the old-school 90s Herbal Essences shampoo. You know the pink one with all the flowers on the packaging? Sadly, I don’t think I’ll be repurchasing this particular scent in the future, especially if it’s not on sale. However, if you have color-treated hair and are looking for a budget-friendly natural alternative, this would be a great product to try.

The Alba Botanica Papaya Mango Moisturizing Cream Shave smells SO GOOD. I love the scent and I think it’s a great shaving cream for sensitive skin. Currently, I’m debating whether or not I will repurchase this product, simply because you can probably get the same results using your conditioner or coconut oil.  I’m all about minimizing products in my daily routine and investing in multi-purpose products, so I guess we will see.

Dr. Bronner’s Lavender Pure Castile Soap is what I use as my daily body wash. If you haven’t tried Dr. Bronner’s soap before or used oils as cleansers, the texture may be strange at first. It doesn’t quite lather the same as traditional body washes, but it softly cleanses and moisturizes the skin. It has many purposes and you can even use it as a facial cleanser if you like. You only need to use a little of the product each time, so it ends up being pretty cost effective. I also got this product on sale at Target, so keep an eye out for deals if you’re interested in picking one up. There are also many other scents to choose from. The almond, rose, and citrus scents are the ones I’m currently interested in trying next. I’ve tried the peppermint one and I find the scent to be a little too strong for me.  Since this product lasts a long time, I won’t be needing to purchase another one anytime soon.

Lastly, the Kiss My Face Miss Treated Conditioner. I got this for about $5 at Tj Maxx and I really like it so far. I have naturally, thick straight hair and I feel like this conditioner moisturizes my hair very well without weighing it down. I think it is also meant for those who have color-treated hair, but I feel that it works just as well on normal hair. It has a decent score on the Environmental Working Group (EWG) website and the palmarosa mint scent isn’t too bad. Despite the pros, it’s still not my favorite, as I tend to gravitate more toward coconut/vanilla/almond scents.  However, if you are interested in a natural option for color-treated hair, I like this conditioner a bit better than my Alba Botanica one.

Right now, I’m still trying to find my HG hair products. Lately, I’ve been looking into etsy for some handmade solid shampoo and conditioner bars. Ideally, I would like my products to have an EWG score between 0-3 and be budget-friendly (it sounds almost impossible, I know!). If you guys have any suggestions for natural hair products to try out, feel free to leave a comment.  🙂

Leave a Reply

