Musings, Places

The Last Bookstore

“There is a place. Like no place on Earth. A land full of wonder, mystery, and danger!”

(Source: eversolightly)

When I moved to New York for school, I found the city to be a bit overwhelming. It was loud, crowded, and chaotic 24/7.  But I guess that’s Manhattan for you. The Strand bookstore was a safe haven for me. I loved walking around the store and browsing at the rare books that I couldn’t possibly afford at the time. There’s something comforting about a nicely kept bookstore in a big city, and I wish I visited it more often. I even bought a couple of signed books there for myself and my close friends. It is easily one of my favorite places in New York.

However, once I moved back to LA, I wondered if there was even an equivalent to The Strand on the west coast. Since Borders went out of business, many other book stores have also closed and the closest book store near me is Barnes & Noble. It’s a bit of an inconvenience location-wise, but it’s better than nothing, I suppose. The thing that I love most about shopping in book stores is the ability to browse and pick up books by hand. I love flipping through the pages and reading an excerpt to see if it’s something I really like.  I often find books that I hadn’t heard of through this method. I’m drawn to interesting book covers as well and I don’t feel it translates quite the same when shopping for books online.

Well, I thought that I would never find a replacement for The Strand until I discovered The Last Bookstore! I have yet to actually visit the place, but omg this place sounds AMAZING. It’s part used bookstore, part vintage record shop, and part art museum, all-in-one. It is a book lover’s dream. Even if you’re not an avid reader, the interior design of the store alone is worth a look. I, for one,  can’t wait to visit.

***

Store Info:

453 S. SPRING ST, GROUND FLOOR
DOWNTOWN LA  |  213.488.0599
MON-THURS: 10A-10P
FRI-SAT: 10A-11P
SUN: 10A-6P

Named 2012’s Best Bookstore In Downtown by both LA Weekly and The Downtown News

Listed as one of the 20 most beautiful bookstores in the world by Flavorwire.com!

Leave a Reply

